Texas Liability Insurance
In Texas, laws govern how much liability insurance motorists must carry. The state recognizes
that drivers should take responsibility for injury and damage that they cause while operating a motor vehicle.
Texas liability insurance reimburses another driver for medical expenses or property damages caused by an at-fault
driver in an automobile accident.
The Texas Department of Insurance oversees the regulation of insurance laws for the entire
state. This means that they set the minimum requirements for liability coverage which all licensed drivers must
possess in order to lawfully operate a motor vehicle within the state’s boundaries. While clear minimums have been
established, drivers are able to purchase liability insurance in amounts that exceed these minimums in order to
ensure that they are adequately covered in the event of an accident. Failure to maintain the necessary minimums can
result in fines, the suspension of the driver’s license, or the impounding of their vehicle.
Texas Liability Insurance - Requirements
The driver may elect to purchase Texas liability insurance in differing amounts
for each type of liability. For bodily injury liability, the driver must have minimum coverage of no less than
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage may be used to pay for the other driver’s medical
expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and punitive damages. The driver must also carry property damage
liability coverage for no less than $25,000 per accident. This insurance provides coverage for repair and
replacement of property damaged in a collision.
The driver must also purchase personal injury protection which covers themselves
and anyone else in the car with them at the time of collision, regardless of who was at fault. At a minimum, the
driver must carry $2,500 worth of this coverage. They are also required to purchase uninsured motorist coverage,
which protects them in the event that they are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have liability
insurance. The minimum amount for this coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Texas Liability Insurance - Collision Coverage
Lastly, drivers may optionally purchase collision coverage, which helps pay for
damage to their own vehicle. Although not required, this coverage can prove very useful in the event of an
Texas liability insurance protects all drivers by making each individual
financially responsible for their actions. A collision is a stressful occurrence, but having liability insurance
takes some of the monetary strain out of the circumstances, and provides necessary peace of mind.
Last Modified: May 16,